How to Use Facebook ‘Take a Break’ Feature to Mute Someone Without Blocking
Facebook Take a Break Feature
The company already had features in place to prevent people from bothering you. For example, you can hide your online status on Facebook so that no one can message you while you are merely surfing. However, this new feature is unique to each individual. More information on it can be found here.
What’s Take a Break on Facebook?
The “Take a Break” option on Facebook allows you to mute any of your Facebook friends so that you don’t see their postings, and vice versa. The nice part is that you can use this tool without having to unfriend or block anyone. When a relationship ends and you don’t want to appear harsh by banning or unfriending them, this tool may come in handy.
Here are some things to keep in mind after you enable Facebook’s “take a break” feature for a friend:
1. When you take a vacation from someone on Facebook, they are unaware of your decision.
2. You won’t be able to see their posts in your Feed after enabling this option for them. You can also limit what that individual can view on your timeline on Facebook. You may change the privacy settings for current and previous postings to restrict who can see them.
3. You will also be untagged from the individual’s postings and vice versa. Finally, anything you’ve written on the person’s timeline will be erased, and vice versa.
How to Use Take a Break on Facebook App?
1. Go to that person’s profile in the Facebook app and tap the “Friends” button. Then, from the pop-up menu, select “Take a Break.”
2. You can now tailor that user’s activities in relation to you. Under the “See less of (Friend Name)” column, tap “See Options” and then “Limit where you see (Friend Name).”
3. After that, tap “Save,” and all of that friend’s or tagged friend’s postings will be removed from your feed and timeline. You will also not be encouraged to send him a message or tag him in photos.
4. Then, under the “Limit what (Friend Name) will see” section, press “See Options” and select “Hide your posts from (Friend Name)” before tapping “Save.”
5. It will put that friend on break, preventing him or her from seeing or responding to any of your Facebook postings.
If you’ve tagged that person in previous postings, he or she will be able to see them. To impose limits on those positions, follow these steps:
Under the “Edit who can see prior posts” box, tap “See options.” Now hit “Save” and select “Edit all of my posts and posts that I’m tagged in.” This will hide all of your previous posts in which you and that friend have been tagged.
Remove ‘Take a Break’ on Facebook
If you wish to remove the limits from that person after a period of time, you may do so with only a few clicks. To reverse these modifications, follow these steps:
Return to the friend’s profile and tap “Take a break” to open the specific sections and restore the changes to default. That friend will be able to see your postings and message you again as a result of this.
On the Facebook web, this feature isn’t available. So, while you can’t do it on a PC browser, you can do it on a mobile device. The procedure is the same as with the app.
This was all about the Take a Break function on Facebook. What are your thoughts on the matter? Is this a feature that you find useful? Please let us know in the comments section!